Sign Up for YPPP Emails!


Matto-HeadshotElizabeth C. Matto is an Assistant Research Professor at the Eagleton Institute of Politics and the Director of the Institute’s Youth Political Participation Program (YPPP). She earned her doctorate in American Politics at  George Washington University and, prior to her work at Eagleton, taught a variety of courses at Princeton University, Temple University, and George Washington University.

As director of YPPP, Matto leads research as well as educational and public service efforts designed to celebrate and support the political learning of high school and college students and civic action among young adults – including those holding and running for office. These projects include:

  • RU Ready™– a civic engagement initiative designed to provide high school students with the tools and encouragement to be civically and politically engaged in their communities.
  • RU Voting™ – a project focused upon engaging Rutgers students in local, state, and national elections.
  • Young Elected Leaders Project involves maintaining a database of young people serving in public office nationwide at all levels of government; gathering data about young leaders’ backgrounds and leadership styles; and building a network of young elected leaders.

In addition, Matto edits the web-based companion to the American Political Science Association’s publication Teaching Civic Engagement: From Student to Active Citizen, a resource for educators who want to include political learning techniques into their curriculum, available here. She currently is working on a book entitled Citizen Now: Engaging in Politics and Democracy to be published by Manchester University Press.

Dr. Matto recently was awarded the Craig L. Brians Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research & Mentorship by the American Political Science Association. Established in 2014, this award is given annually by the APSA Political Science Education Section at the Teaching and Learning Conference, with recognition also given at the APSA annual meeting. This award is given to faculty members who demonstrate commitment to and excellence in encouraging and developing scholarship among undergraduate students, and in mentoring undergraduate students in preparation for graduate school or public affairs related careers.

Matto lives in Hunterdon County with her husband and two children.